Updated September 2020
We have updated this page to reflect Covid-19 changes on our Skip site. Click HERE to get the most up-to-date information.
Here's the ultimate guide to transferring your vehicle title at the California DMV. We've simplified the entire process to save you time.
What You’ll Need to Transfer your California Vehicle Title
Completed Verification of Vehicle (Form REG 31) form
For out-of-state title transfers…
- Completed Application for Title or Registration (Form REG 343)
- Out-of-state title and registration
- License plates (unless already expired, surrendered, or assigned to an interstate-registered vehicle)
- Weight certificate (for pick-up trucks)
- $21 for title fee
- Payment for registration fee (use the DMV’s registration fee calculator to determine the amount)
For ownership transfers…
- Bill of sale
- Existing title from seller (including seller’s signature and any applicable lien releases)
- Odometer disclosure (found on back of title; for vehicles less than 10 years old)
- Payment for $15 title transfer fee and applicable use tax fees
What You’ll Need To Do
- Step 1: Obtain a smog inspection certificate
- Step 2: Obtain a completed Verification of Vehicle (Form REG 31) form to prove the legality of your vehicle’s VIN (Vehicle Identification Number). Your vehicle can be verified by any one of the following:
- DMV employee (optional: make an appointment!)
- CA-licensed vehicle verifier
- Certified auto club employee
- California law enforcement or peace officer
- Step 3: Visit your nearest DMV office (recommended: make an appointment!)
- Present the required documents and ID
- Receive your CA vehicle title
- Step 4: Hit the road and drive!
Caveats and Exceptions
Request this full checklist, including caveats and exceptions, for free by email:
Visit our California DMV information page.
Looking for real-time DMV wait times in California?
In a hurry? Get a DMV appointment fast
Get unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat support with 15 days free of Skip.