✅ Updated September 2020

Here's the ultimate guide to getting your driver license at the Alabama DMV. We've simplified the entire process for you so you can save time.

What You’ll Need to Get your Alabama DMV Driver License

  • Two forms of identification, at least one of which contains a photograph (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card) or three forms of non-photo identification (one form must be from the “primary” list, in addition to the Social Security card)
  • Social Security card.
  • Acceptable school enrollment form or proof of graduation (if younger than 19 and applying for the first time).
  • 2 Proofs of Principal Residence.
  • $5 test fee.
  • $36.25 to purchase license
  • Applicants 18 or older who wish to complete all testing for a license must have a licensed driver, proof of car insurance and a vehicle that will pass inspection.

If you are 15 years old:

  • U.S. birth certificate (certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics - NO PHOTOCOPIES).
  • Acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation.

Restricted License (Stage II)

  • A reliable vehicle to test in 
  • Proof of insurance for that vehicle.
  • A parent/guardian to go with you for your test. 
  • Your valid learner’s permit.
  • Your Social Security card.
  • Proof of Identity: 
  • 2 documents, with 1 document showing your photograph or 3 documents, if you have none with your photograph on them
  • School enrollment or graduation - this could be a/an:
  • Enrollment/Exclusion form (DL1/93)
  • GED or graduation certificate
  • Certified letter from your school stating your enrollment.
  • License fee of $36.25.
  • To take the behind-the-wheel exam you need:
  • Students must have a verification form provided by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA), signed by a parent, grandparent, legal guardian or certified driving instructor verifying that the applicant has COMPLETED a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice.
  • OR students must submit a completion form supplied by the State Department of Education (SDE) verifying that the applicant has COMPLETED an SDE-approved driver education course.

Unrestricted License (Stage III)

  • Stage III license fee is $31.25 for those who present a Stage II license and receive a restriction free duplicate. The fee is $36.25 for those who did not obtain a Stage II license prior to turning age 18
  • Stage II license

Motor-Driven Cycle License (ages 14 and 15)

  • U.S. birth certificate (certified and issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics - NO PHOTOCOPIES),or Alabama non-driver identification card or Alabama vessel license.
  • Social Security card.
  • Third form of identification from “secondary” list (if other identification is nonphoto).
  • Fifteen-year-old applicants must have acceptable proof of school enrollment or graduation

Alabama DMV Driver License: What You’ll Do

Applying for Learner’s Permit (Stage I)

  • Step 1: Make an appointment with your local driver license office
  • Step 2: Submit the required documents.
  • Step 3: Take the written knowledge exam
  • Step 4: Pay the $5 testing fee and $36.25 license fee
  • Step 5: Once you pass the written knowledge exam you will receive your learner’s license, which is valid for 4 years. 
  • Step 6: You’ll need to hold your permit for at least 6 months before moving onto Restricted License

Restricted License (Stage II)

  • Must be 16 or older. 
  • Step 1: Provide your valid learner’s permit and required documents (Social Security card, Proof of identity and must have permission from parent, grandparent or legal guardian to receive a Stage II license (restricted) and drive without supervision.
  • Step 2: Must not drive during the hours of 12:00 AM to 6:00 AM unless accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, accompanied by a licensed driver who’s age is 21 or older with parent or legal guardian’s consent, going to or from an event sponsored by school or religious organization, going to or from place of employment or driving for the purpose of a medical, fire or law-enforcement related emergency. 
  • Step 3: Must not have more than one passenger in the vehicle other than parents, legal guardians or family members.
  • Step 4: Must not use any handheld communication devices while driving.
  • Step 5: Must complete the road skills examination with a passing grade. To reduce wait time,appointments can be scheduled online. 
  • Step 6: Once you pass your driving test, you’ll receive your restricted driver’s license. You must hold your license for a minimum of 6 months and reach the age of 17 years old before you can apply for a Stage III Unrestricted driver’s license.

Unrestricted License (Stage III)

  • Step 1: Visit your nearest ALEI office. 
  • Turn in your Stage II or your restricted license for the Stage III or unrestricted Driver's License. 

Motor-Driven Cycle License (ages 14 and 15)

  • Step 1: You must submit all the required documents listed above. 
  • Step 2: Pass the written test based upon the motorcycle manual.
  • Step 3: You will receive a class M License with a “B” restriction, allowing you to drive a motor-driven cycle only. At 16 years old, you can transfer your license to a regular Class M motorcycle license. You may need to take the driving test.

Caveats and Exceptions to Getting your Alabama Driver License

  • Individuals who are age 18 and older may apply immediately for a Stage III license (passing score on road skills exam is required).
  • Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Driver License Division does not accept checks. Cash or money orders are accepted. Credit Cards are also accepted (MasterCard, Visa or Discover) convenience fee of 4% applies to the total charge.
  • You must hold your provisional license for a minimum of 6 months before you can proceed to the next Driver License stage. 
  • In certain circumstances, there are few exceptions in which teens are exempt from the GDL program and may obtain an unrestricted driver’s license without first having obtained a learner’s permit. These includes the following:
    • 16 years old or older who are married and considered the head of household
    • legally relieved of minority status (the state or period of being below the legal age).
    • Does not apply to individuals who are age 17 or older who have had valid driver licenses for six months or longer.

Need other Alabama DMV help for free?

📌 Get unlimited DMV appointments and DMV chat support with a 15 days free of Skip*

*15 days free using above invite link, this week only.

 

❗Pro-tip:  YoGov can help you get your US driving license! Book a Road Test Concierge car and driver to help you pass your road test.